top of page

Every Time You Go Away

Available: July 24, 2018

Thank you to NetGalley.com for the opportunity to read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

I wanted to love this book – I thought it would be all Ghost-y (like the movie) and there would be a dramatic scene with Roxy, there may be a future romance on the horizon for Willa, there would be a definitive ending – something. On that front, it was a disappointment. It was a cute, summer chick-lit read but just okay.

What I loved: Ocean City is an dark horse for summer beach locations – The upper East Coast of Nantucket, the Cape, even Providence, Rhode Island and the Jersey Shore seem to be more popular for locales for summer homes so it was nice to read and learn about an underdog summer escape.

What I didn’t love: I get where Willa and Jamie are coming from – and maybe the ending was just that they were both starting back on their journey of actually living their lives but it was really weak. Sell the house or don’t, fall in love or don’t – I really didn’t care after finishing the book because it seemed like it really didn’t have closure.

What I learned: Lord knows the food choices sound absolutely amazing but not a lot of crabs?? Isn’t that what Maryland is known for? Crab cakes and football?

Overall Grade: B-

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page