top of page

The Dinner List

Thank you to NetGalley.com for an ARC copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

Maybe reading this as you're dropping your only kid at college isn't a good thing.... My Facebook book club (Bitter is the New Book Club) raved about it and I loved the premise but I think this is a true case of "Its not you - its me" as I was more emotional than a menopausal woman having 12 hot flashes at once as I got my only daughter off to college 2000 miles from home while reading the book.

Of course this book conjures up the question of who would I have at my dinner party? Honestly, I think I would just want to spend an hour each with the three grandparents I had growing up.. I realize now that I didn't appreciate all of their amazing stories now as an adult with a child of my own. No food, just 60 minutes of focusing on three people who loved me unconditionally.

Here I go again - an emotional hot flash..Better get back to the book....

Yes - this book is beautifully written, super funny at times and will tug at the heart strings as you think about the past, present and future. I think I will need to re-read it again . Rebecca Serle has an amazing talent on weaving a beautiful story - I think she will be an author to watch.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page